Posted by: wasaa | August 16, 2009

English Grade 9

Subject :- English     Second Term Test  – 2009
Name:-                                                 Time:- 2 hours

Grade:- 9

 

 

Match  A  with  B

                  A                                                  B

(1) Hello! How are you                      (a) Yes I do.
(2)Where do you live?                        (b)by bus.
(3)Do you go to school?                     (c)I’m fine thank you.
(4)How do you go to school?              (d) No I’m not.
(5)Are you from Matara?                     (e)I live in Hakmana.

(2)Fill in the blanks using following prepositions
( on,in,under,by,from,with,through,)

(1)The children are playing……..the playground.
(2)Your bag is……….the table.
(3)There was a very large mango tree……..the river.
(4)I was suffering from fever.
(5)We had to go to her place…………a jungle.

(3) Write about yourself.
(1)I go to ……………………………..college.
(2)I am ………………..years old.
(3) I have …………brothers and ………….sisters.
(4) My favourite subject is………………
(5) I am going to be a………………one day.

(4)Put the following sentences in to negative

(1) The children are playing cricket.
…………………………………………..
(2)We could come on time.
……………………………………………
(3)She helps others.
……………………………………………

4) We know how to cross the road.
……………………………………………..
(5) I went to school today.
………………………………………………..

 

 

 

 

 
(5)Fill in the application about yourself.
 
1. Name:-
2. Date of birth:_
3. School:-
4. Grade:-
5. Address:
6. Name of the guardian:-
7. Telephone number:-
8. Favourite hobby:-
9. Date:-
10. Signature:-

(6)Write an essay about one of the following topic.
1. My village.
2 My School.
3My best friend

(7)Underline the correct verb.
(1)She (are,is,has,)my best friend.
(2)We (were,am,has,)sorry to hear about the accident.
(3)I  (does,am,do,)not know how to thank you.
(4)My brother (can,is,has,)help you to that place.
(5)Our principal (come,comes,coming,)to school by bus.
 
(8)Underline the correct pronoun.
(1) This is (myself,I,me,)pen.
(2)I want to see (he,they,your,)book.
(3)I (myself,himself,yourself,)posted the letter.
(4)Thank (him,you,her,)for his kindness.
(5)They did not help (I,me,my,)to pass the examination.

(9)Say whether the following are TRUE or FALSE
       
     (1)The farmer is a person who cultivates lands.
     (2)The doctor gives us medicines.
     (3)The pilot works in a bakery.
      (4)The carpenter is the person who gives us letters.
       (5)The mason is the person who builds houses.

(10) Circle the correct letters.
(1) enviro….ment.(n,o,u,)
(2) comm……nication. ( n,u,o )
(3) newsp…pers.(4) ( s,a,n)
(4) sc…entific.( e,i,v,)
(5) im…diately. ( n,m,s )

Leave a Reply

Categories

